Ads Top

What are the BIMSTEC countries?

What are BIMSTEC countries ?

What are the BIMSTEC countries? - Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Co-operation (BIMSTEC i.e. BIMTech) is a regional organization adjacent to the Bay of Bengal and adjacent countries. There are seven member countries - India, Bhutan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Myanmar and Thailand. Pakistan is not included in it.

The purpose of this organization is to create a positive environment among member countries to promote rapid economic development, social progress and coordinate on issues of common interest. This regional organization was established in 1997 under the Bangkok Declaration.

Initially, there were four member countries and it was called BIST-EC - that is, Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka and Thailand Economic Cooperation Organization. After incorporating Myanmar, its name became BIMT-EC. Later, when Bhutan and Nepal were included in 2004, its name became BIMSTEC.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has invited the heads of BIMSTEC countries in his oath-taking instead of SAARC (South Asia Regional Cooperation Organization, which includes Pakistan). But this is not the first time that India has ignored Pakistan.

Earlier in 2016, when India hosted the BRICS conference, India had invited BIMSTEC countries instead of SAARC. India escaped the compulsion to call Pakistan in this way. Through SAARC, where India was doing regional cooperation and trade in South Asia, but after 'BIMSTEC' in India even in South-East Asia, India extended mutual cooperation and trade.

Although BIMSTEC member countries have their own free trade agreements, the impact of BIMSTEC is not very much. This organization is important because, for India, all member countries are also close neighbours of India.

It is also helpful in India's policy of enhancing its influence in the East as it also connects India with South Asian countries. But is the organization very impressive? Former Indian Secretary of State Mukchand Dubey does not like this.

In a remark, two years before the BBC, he said, "Our policy towards Southeast Asia is very long ago. In the situation where SAARC has been in the last 30 years, it can be said to be dead often. There is no evidence of the survival of an institution only, only the conferences are to be held regularly. As far as taking concrete action is concerned, due to political divisions, this can not happen. "

Dubey said that the expectations cannot be given more than 'BIMSTEC' because this organization has remained almost exactly as 'SAARC'. However, some analysts also believe that through BIMSTEC, India has increased its influence in South-East Asia.

In his oath-taking, Modi has called the members of BIMSTEC countries and again has indicated how important these countries are for India. India has also indicated that it will continue efforts to isolate Pakistan at the international level.

No comments:

© 2019 Naradjee. Powered by Blogger.