Ads Top

Who is the Winner of first Cricket World Cup?

Who is the Winner of first Cricket World Cup?

The first World Cup was held in England in 1975, the father of cricket. Then it was known as Prudential Cup. There were eight teams participating in this. It also included teams from Sri Lanka and East Africa, who did not receive Test status.

The East African team was composed of four countries in Kenya, Tanzania, Ugandan and Zambia. West Indies achieved the distinction of being the first World Winner by performing brilliantly. West Indies beat Australia by 17 runs in the final by captain Clive Lloyd (102).

The turning point of the final was three runs out of legendary Viv Richards. Australia, chasing a target of 292, scored 81 runs on a wicket. The Australian team was moving towards victory. But Richards first turned Alan Turner and then Chappell Brothers Ian and Greg out of the match.

First semi-final: England vs Australia,

England: 93/10 (36.2 overs), Australia: 94/6 (28.4 overs), Australia won by four wickets
Man of the match: GJ Gilmore (Australia)

Second semi-final: New Zealand v West Indies

New Zealand: West Indies: 159/5 (40.1 overs), West Indies won by five wickets
Man of the match: Kalicharan (West Indies)

Final: Australia vs West Indies

West Indies: 291/8 (60 overs), Australia: 274/10 (58.4 overs), West Indies won by 17 runs
Man of the Match: Clive Lloyd (West Indies)

Indian team performance

Who is the Winner of first Cricket World Cup?
Sunil Gavaskar

West Indies, Kalicharan smashed the ball of Australian bowler Dennis Lilly in the group stage. Kalicharan shot 35 runs (4,4,4,4,4,4,4,0,4,4) with a fantastic hook shot on Lilley's ten balls on The Oval ground. 

The first World Cup debut was played between India and host England on Lord's ground. Madan Lal Sharma got the distinction of throwing the first ball of the World Cup. England scored 334 runs for the fourth wicket with Dennis Amis (137). In reply, the Indian team managed to score only 132 runs on three wickets and lost by a big margin of 202 runs. Opener Sunil Gavaskar returned unbeaten on 60 overs and played 174 balls and could only make 36 runs with the help of a four.

India beat East Africa by ten wickets in the second match. Before the help of Madan Lal (3/15), Syed Abid Ali (2/22), Mohinder Amarnath (2/39), the rival team rallied at 120. After that, with the help of Gavaskar (65) and Farokh Engineer (54), the target was achieved without losing the wicket.

Despite the all-rounder game of Abid Ali (70 runs, 2/35), the team lost by four wickets with four wickets. Earlier, the Indian team got reduced to 230 runs on the last ball. In response, New Zealand won the match with an unbeaten century from GM Turner (114) and scored 733 runs for the unbeaten 233 off six wickets. Madan and Amarnath took one wicket each.

Indian Cricket Team

Srinivas Venkataraghavan (Captain), Sunil Gavaskar, Mohinder Amarnath, Farooq Engineer, Anshuman Gaikwad, Gundappa Vishwanath, Brajesh Patel, Syed Abid Ali, Karson Ghavri, Eknath Solkar, Madan Lal, Bishan Singh Bedi

No comments:

© 2019 Naradjee. Powered by Blogger.